Top Five Reasons to Self-Publish

Every writer now days has to carefully decide between two roads, traditional publishing, or self-publishing. Both roads, with the proper amount of elbow grease, will technically get you where you really want to be, but both roads are far from equal.

I must confess that just like every other writer out there I started out wanting to go the traditional publishing route. Once I finished my work I even started querying publishers. That was a whole new level for me, it helped me to see what it was really like to compete for a coveted spot on some publishers roster. That was when I realized I wanted to take a crack at self-publishing. Here are my top five reasons for making that decision.

I wish you the best of luck, whichever route you decide to take!

 

1: Time: I’m sure you’ve heard the old saying, ‘time is money’. So true. What’s also true, is the longer I spend querying (and then waiting for the actual publication date), the closer I get to being old and dead ; ) Simply put, traditional publishers are slooooowwwww.

When you self-publish, the only thing holding you back, is you. If you’re a very prolific writer, self-publishing rocks even more, you can pop out book after book after book. If those books are good, and your marketing skills are solid, you should generate a following.

 

2: Rules: I hate rules, they crush every fiber of my writer soul! The first novel I finished enough to query, broke all kinds of rules.

Every publisher has their list of no-no’s, like, no unhappy endings, no excessive violence, no rape scenes (even in memories).

Self-publishing is like the wild west, publish what you want (unless amazon catches you and puts your story in the ‘dungeon’).

 

3: Money: If I make it big, guess who gets to keep pretty much all the money? That’s right, me. Yes, self-publishing websites like Smashwords and Amazon do deduct a portion of each sale, but much less than a traditional publisher. On the flip side, if you know what you’re doing, you can use your own website to sell your books, which cuts out the middle man.

 

4: Options: Guess what else I get to do? I get to set the price of my book. I can give it away for free, I can charge fifty dollars a pop (yes, I’ve seen this happen). I can have special sales whenever I feel like it. If it isn’t selling as well as I want, I can adjust the price. If it’s selling really well, I can be a dick and raise the price.

 

5: No contracts: When I self-publish I don’t have to worry whether the next stroke of my pen will sell my soul to the devil. Will I retain this right, or that right? Will they secretly be selling my work in Japan and not paying me a cent?

 

Conclusion: There are plenty of good reasons to publish the traditional way, but there’s no reason to consider that to be the ONLY way to go. In fact, I can change my mind at any second, or I can do BOTH. I can start out self-publishing then move into traditional publishing. I can get paid to enter my short stories in anthology’s, while publishing longer works on my own. I can keep querying certain pieces I think will do well in traditional publishing, while self-publishing a bunch of other stuff. The sky is the limit.

I hope my top five reasons help you decide whether you want to dip your toe into self-publishing or not.

Feel free to leave questions or comments below!

 

Blessings!

Meno<3

12 thoughts on “Top Five Reasons to Self-Publish

  1. I’m nowhere near done with my book but I’m debating between self-publishing and the traditional way. I feel like self-publishing puts a lot more work on the author. You have to market your book by yourself, settle the ISBN number, come up with cover, and all that. I feel like a publisher would be a good support system but, at the same time, I don’t fancy someone telling me what to do with my writing.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You’re right, sometimes traditional publishing can be less work!
    I haven’t had any problems with ISBN numbers though(smashwords provides you with one for free), but covers can be a real pain if you don’t know what you’re doing, or don’t want to pay someone.
    I think though the biggest upside to a traditional publisher, or at least a big name publisher, is just that, you get their name, which goes a long ways marketing wise.
    Just be aware that the publisher is still going to expect you to do your fair share of marketing (unless you get super lucky). That being said, if you have a blog with lots of followers, you’re already well on your way to having a loyal fan base ; )

    Meno<3

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yeah so I may go the self-publishing route if I can figure out marketing. It’s super weird but I already have a cover idea and I know how to draw it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I say go for it, esp. if you have an idea! Make the cover, post about it, see what people think.
    As for marketing, remember the essential points of marketing are A: Letting people know you exist B: Letting people know you write C: giving people enough good samples that they know your writing is good.
    The rest is up to the gods lol

    Meno<3

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m all for self publishing, but I think authors need to be realistic. Very few of us will make more than a pittance from publishing ourselves. Part of the problem is that, without vetting, there are a lot of mediocre self published books out there and it’s hard to get noticed even if yours is better. But that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t keep trying!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. That is truly the harsh reality! I would put this under reasons to traditionally publish.
    I think that self-publishing is just another tool in our arsenal as writers, and we shouldn’t rely on it solely, unless we get lucky.
    I sincerely believe if you produce good work prolifically, and constantly push forward, you will at least, at least, end up with a decent writing career, and that’s what most of us want.

    Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

    Meno<3

    Like

  7. For me, the decision to self-publish canme after receiving some feedback from a literary agent who read 30 pages of my novel . I paid for this service through a local book festival. My book is about the years my American-born father and his family spent living in the USSR. This was clearly a very personal story, and the edits she suggested were important to the understanding of the book–in my opinion. That is when I made the decision to take complete control of the book by self-publishing it.
    Marketing it is very difficult, so each time a stranger reads my book, I score a personal victory. For this particular book, if it goes nowhere, so be it. It was an important story for me to uncover and took years of research. If nothing else, my children and grandchildren will know my dad’s unique story.
    Perhaps set a deadline–mine had been a year. Analyze you goals. Mine was to learn the story I never asked my dad. Maybe this will help you figure out how to proceed.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. That’s amazing! Those are the only books we should really be writing, the ones we’re passionate about.

    I set lots of deadlines ; ) it’s the only way I can get work done. So far so good though!!!!

    Meno<3

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

