Red(Poem)

There is a red glow over the horizon
I stretch and bleed
I wallow and travail
The red glow seeps
Drifts like fog down the stony hillsides
Into the marsh of my soul
It is midnight
And I am death black
Breathing in the red glow
Like fine mist
Permeating who I am
So that I can feel
Something that is not fear
No, it is me you should fear
I’ve clawed at my skin, at my eyes
They bleed, all for my tormentors sake
But now I am picking at the crusts
Rubbing away the dark red dust

There is a red glow over the horizon
Perhaps it is day
Perhaps it is chaos
I rise and stagger
I tilt and plunge
Like a mad silhouette
Like a ship abreast a drunken sea
The red glow wraps about me
Like a tender embrace
It is a new day
And I am cloud grey
Grasping at the glow
Letting its sensation be mine
I shall not fear
For fear is not me
I shall not sorrow
For sorrow is not me

One thought on “Red(Poem)

Leave a Reply

