The Witch’s Bookshelf: I Am Ozzy (Book Review)

index

So I’m pretty much a sucker for musician Bios. Especially those about musicians that are seen as coming from a dark genre of music, you know, the kind your parents cringe when they see the album, stopping to cross themselves, or shut their eyes tight in a silent prayer (In a high pitched quavering voice)“may God save little Jimmies soul, the devil is going to pop out of that Alice Cooper album at any second and eat him alive.” Or something like that. For this reason ‘I Am Ozzy’ was at the top of my reading list the second I saw it.

Ozzy spends a lot of time talking about his infamous exploits while touring, and hey, who doesn’t like a good bite-the-head-off-a-bird story? But in ‘I Am Ozzy’ we get to dig out the delicate and formative roots of a man that has become known the world over for his slurred words as much as his music. He details his struggles from childhood, as well as the ongoing ones (namely alcoholism that turned him all Jack Torrance a few times). You also get a real sense for not only what kind of band Black Sabbath was supposed to be (it wasn’t originally named Black Sabbath), and what kind of band it became.

As you might suspect, this book is a must have for any and all Black Sabbath/Ozzy fans, a serious and enriching read.

If you’re not a fan, or just sort of like their music, you still might enjoy this book, but only if you can stomach the occasional blood and gore (slaughter house scenes, alcohol fueled rampages). When you’re done you might even find you have a soft spot for this hard to understand rock legend. All flaws aside, he makes himself a very likeable person.

Suffice to say, I’m no hardcore fan, but I’m more than a little glad I read this book! I’d give it a hearty five stars, but I don’t use a star rating system ; )

Let me know below if you’ve read this, or want to read it.

What’s your favorite Musician Bio? What’s one you’re dying to read?

7 thoughts on “The Witch’s Bookshelf: I Am Ozzy (Book Review)

  1. I too love musician bios! I am not a huge Ozzy fan, but I would love to read this, as I think he is certainly an interesting character! There is a book called ‘Please Kill Me’ which is basically the bio of punk rock. That is probably the best one I ever read. I wish Mick Jagger would write an autobiography — still waiting on that one πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’ve always been attracted to bios…there is just something about those stories that draw me in! I am an Ozzy fan so this looks to be just my cup of tea. I’m so glad that I came across this review πŸ™‚

    Ozzy is indeed someone I’m captivated by. He is quite the character for sure, not to mention loaded with intriguing stories. He has, no doubt, seen, done and witnessed some very peculiar things in his life and this admittedly makes me want to always know more about him. He’s surprising though…though he’s known for many, many not-so-lovely things, he’s also a history nerd (as am I) and though he has not always been so, quite a family oriented man now. I think the key to Ozzy’s continual success is that he has evolved so much…ever changing but constant too. Interesting fella πŸ™‚

    I read ‘The Long Road Out of Hell’ by Marilyn Manson last year and although I knew going into reading the book that I’d likely be totally shocked, I was still shocked even more than I thought I’d be. Wow…just wow. It’s a good book and he is captivating without a doubt…it’s not for the faint of heart. Intriguing for sure.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I know I read a book about the roots of punk rock at one point, but my memory is so bad sometimes I can only remember the content not the title. ‘Please Kill Me’ sounds like a book I’d be interested in reading though (if I haven’t already ; ) ).
    I’m really surprised that Mick Jagger hasn’t done an Autobiography, it would be a bestseller without a doubt.
    Thanks for stopping by and reading!

    Meno<3

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yeah you’re seriously going to like this one! I’m glad I was able to introduce you to it, my work here is done..
    I almost had the impression that there was a part of Ozzy, a soft part, that stayed the same over his entire life even as he went through dark and darker times..
    It’s amazing awesome that you mention ‘The Long Road Out of Hell’, I’m in the middle of reading it! I’ve always been a Manson fan. He’s very articulate and intelligent, esp. off stage, but even in his music, which sounds childish at times but is really biting and full of meaning. A lot of people don’t realize that I think. They misinterpret it as simple filth, when it’s usually a commentary on the listeners own ways of life.
    I’m sure Manson doesn’t mind though, he seems to enjoy pissing people off, esp. the Christian church.

    Meno<3

    PS. Thanks for following!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I totally, totally agree about Manson. His music is certainly the voice of outside mainstream and I love him for it! That is what is so powerful about it…that it touches a nerve, crosses into forbidden territory, it’s fantastic. I love hearing him speak about his views and outlook on things, he is such a wise person, I always find myself nodding yes as he talks. He certainly loves the shock factor but hey, yeah, that’s Manson πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  6. My admiration aside, as I read his bio I find that he comes across as a bit of a sociopath, and sociopath’s are known for being extremely intelligent. It was a new level to him that I hadn’t discovered before, something below all the show and lights…

    Meno<3

    Like

Leave a Reply

