Frozen Sparrows (Poem)

I incline my head to the heavens

There is no God in the starless sky

I breathe into the seams again

Of life coming apart

Viewing the ugly humanity frozen and alone

A small voice says

“If only it would it die”

But my heart aches

Throbs in unbearable recognition

Of pain, that is finally not my own

My fingers are weak and stalled

And the stars that have fallen

Dot my horizon

Glowing radioactive away from their nest

In sympathy, whispering

“Even God could not save the frozen sparrow,

Even he would not,

Some must stay,

Some must go,

Send them away with a burst of light,

Kiss out afterglow

And bless your own.”

Leave a Reply

