How I accidentally met other pagans

I’m a solitary witch. I was also raised with a heavy emphasis on the stigma of witchcraft of any kind, (AKA it’s all Satanism you know). So when I converted, it wasn’t exactly a celebration, much less a publicly disclosed decision.

Now honestly being a solitary witch doesn’t bother me much at all, I’m not looking for a coven or anything, at least not at this point in my life. I am content here with my books and my exploration (which was tentative at first). But every once in a while it’s nice to know that you’re not the only one in the world who doesn’t subscribe to some brand of the Abramic religion.

So how does one find evidence of other pagans, without putting a huge sign on your back that says ‘hey I’m a witch, wanna try converting me?’ (to my Christian friends, I’m glad you’re Christian and you’re happy that way, but I wasn’t. Remember my religion is my choice, just like your religion is your choice.)

The bookshelf of course.

I’m a hopeless bookworm. Always collecting various religious books (not just occult), and my favorite place to do this is at the local thrift shop. Most of them have a nice section full of either general religious books, or if you’re lucky an alternative religion section.

That’s how I met a few pagans, and funny thing was, we didn’t even have to say it. It was more like- oh did you see this book? I wonder if all these cards are here. No, I have way too many of those manuals at home, they suffice me well enough.

I guess sometimes you find light in the most unexpected places in life.

Have you ever met someone who believes in the same religion as you somewhere you didn’t expect?

6 thoughts on “How I accidentally met other pagans

  1. It’s awfully hard to meet other practitioners, especially those of my own ‘brand’ as you might say… But I’m always happy to meet my Wiccan and otherwise pagan brothers and sisters. Though the one time I could’ve done without was when I met a rather fanatical follower of Thelema and Aleister Crowley… I did get The Equinox out of it, though. Interesting read, as far as religious tomes go.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just goes to show that fanatics come in all shapes and sizes. People often forget that. Sure some groups are more prone to it, but every group has a couple (or more)…

    Thanks for stopping in and taking the time to comment!

    Meno

    Like

Leave a Reply

