The witch’s bookshelf: Here,Bullet

cranes roost atop the power lines in enormous

bowl-shaped nests of sticks and twigs,

and when a sergeant shoots one from the highway

it pauses, as if amazed that death has found it

here, at 7 A.M. on such a beautiful morning,

before pitching over the side and falling

in a slow unraveling of feathers and wings.

-From the poem Hwy 1 by Brian Turner

 

brian turner

 

If you haven’t read this book yet, I can promise you that you are missing some very earth moving poetry. The first copy I acquired of this book was  from the local library (a bookworms paradise), and I have to admit, rather sheepishly, that I didn’t even get out of the parking lot, I finished that sucker right there and then. Years later I bought my own copy from the bookstore, and I have to say that it was not a penny wasted, because for me this is the sort of book you can come back to every once in a while and enjoy all over again. Better yet, the poems start to make a different kind of sense. You start to notice details that you didn’t notice before, lines spring to life anew.

‘Here, Bullet’ details Brain Turners experiences with modern warfare(he is a veteran), succinctly and beautifully. He lets you experience the pain and confusion without leaving you in complete despair, because there is always beauty and life tucked into the small corners of death and destruction.

So I would give this book five stars, over, and over again.

What is your all time favorite book of poetry or poem?

 

5 thoughts on “The witch’s bookshelf: Here,Bullet

  1. My all-time favorite “book of poetry” would have to be the collection I stored up of my husband’s poetry. He inspired me to write poems for him as well and we have a lovely little collection that we can always look back on from a special moment in our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

