The Witch’s Herb Garden: Drying Herbs

The Witch’s Herb Garden: Drying Fresh Herbs

I’ve always wondered about drying herbs (or any plant for that matter), I mean how useful would that be! But it all seemed so…mysterious? Difficult?
I had already started an herb garden, just a small one, a little of this, a little of that (everyone loves mint right). All those nice herbs were just going to seed until I decided to give drying them a try. Here’s what I learned along the way.

What do I need to get started?: Very little. Of course you need the herb you would like to use (doesn’t really matter where you got it, maybe you asked a neighbor nicely…). Maybe a little something fresh to throw in your cooking, maybe a little something to use in a spell, your choice.
I use sowing thread to hang my herbs, you can buy a pack of it for super cheap at the local massive chain store of your choice. A little piece of cloth is also useful, just to wrap around the herbs to keep off dust, but this is optional really.
The last thing is something to store them in. You can use any glass jar or plastic container you’d like, just make sure it’s clean, dry and sealed. If you want to do powered herbs you can pick up a neat set of glass vials from the craft store for about ten dollars. I love these, they work so perfectly! The bonus is if you get the right set you can just keep them all tidy in the package.

Let’s get drying!: I suggest starting small, do a little test batch if you can, three or four leaves/sprigs of your chosen plant. I just recently dried some oregano for spaghetti, it came out splendid!
It’s usually suggested to harvest to leaves early in the morning after the dew has dried up, simply for fuller flavor, but if you’re drying something strong like sage or oregano this isn’t all that necessary. Try both ways if you like, or just one, maybe you’re not an early riser.
Pick the best leaves (but not all, unless you want to kill the plant), wash them, dry them a little. Shaking them dry should be sufficient but patting with a paper towel never hurts either.
Take them by the stem and tie them together. I like to double my thread over then tie the end to the stem so that you have a neat hanging loop all ready to go.
Here’s the hardest part, find somewhere to hang them!
For years I was under some strange impression that herbs were supposed to be hung in the sun, not true. The best place is somewhere shady and dry, the least humidity the better. Otherwise you might end up with a moldy rotten mess.
There are all kinds of clever ways you can hang them. One of my favorites is the idea of a simple board with hooks, maybe some cute words painted on it, but no need to get fancy (unless you want to). Just hang them anywhere you could hang anything else.
Now it’s time to wait. It won’t take any longer than a week. The thinner the herb the faster the dry. If in doubt, check them every few days.
Once they are dry it’s all up to you what you want to do with them, the world is your oyster! I like to crush mine to powder and store them for use in cooking, and maybe an odd spell here and there (the more time and care you put into a spell the better).

Have an herb garden? What are your favorite herbs to grow? How do you use them?

Blessed be!

17 thoughts on “The Witch’s Herb Garden: Drying Herbs

  1. You’re exactly right, finding a place to hang them that isn’t too hot, damp, in the way, is the hardest part! We ran a wire near the ceiling in our living room and hang them there. Funny anecdote, someone came over to the house, & had no idea I’m a witch. When they saw the herbs hanging there, they commented that it looked like we lived in a witch’s cottage like you see in the movies! Well, yeah… Nice post!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m growing herbs for the first time this year. I have basil, parsley, rosemary, thyme, sage and dill. I’m hoping to dry these when they finally get bigger.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I tried growing herbs in the past without much luck. Since I had luck with the garden last year, I hoped it would transfer into the herb part. So far, so good.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for this post! I’ve been very interested in drying herbs to make into oils, but a dehydrator seemed like a bad idea because it cooks off some of the aroma, and outside in the sun also provides too much heat. My husband, actually, received a large amount of fresh lavender, and he’s been hanging them, but I wasn’t sure how well that might work out for us. Clearly it should be just fine!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve heard you can also oven dry them, but I haven’t tried it. So far all the herbs I’ve dried this way have had a nice strong aroma.
    Making oils with them sounds quite fun! I might have to try this sometime..

    Meno

    Like

  6. Lavender and Thyme are my favorite but they are all wonderful to me! I found a trick/ suggestion from a seasoned herbalist friend, to dry basil. I found that using small square pieces of paper towel and laying the leaves so they don’t overlap and then piling the squares, one on top of another with a few stones covering the pile, to keep the moisture out, works great. I was able to dry a whole jar full this year for the winter months! I make tea, sachets for friends and my daughter’s locker (to try and discourage lice from wanting to go anywhere near it=) and in cooking! I could think and talk about herbs all day!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. That sounds like a really neat trick, thanks for sharing it!
    It really is an enjoyable and downright useful thing to have as a ‘hobby’ hehe I hope to post quite a bit more next year about this sort of thing. It’s a little chilly were I am right now though, so I’m focusing mostly on indoor projects…

    Meno<3
    PS. thanks for the follow, feel free to talk my ear off about herbs! ; )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

